O Hussein, Hussein, Wherefore Art Thou Hussein?

Tom Maguire on “What’s in a name?”:

Voter —
‘Tis but thy name that is my enemy;–
Thou art thyself, though not a real Hussein.
What’s Hussein? It is nor hand, nor foot,
Nor arm, nor face, nor any other part
Belonging to a man. O, be some other name!
What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet;
So Obama would, were he not too Hussein call’d,
Retain that dear perfection which he owes
Without that title:–Obama, doff Hussein;
And for Hussein, which is no part of thee,
Take all myself.

Obama.
I take thee at thy word:
Give me your vote, and I’ll be new baptiz’d;
Henceforth I never will be not Hussein

Voter.
What man art thou that, thus bescreen’d in night,
So stumblest on my counsel?

Obama.
With Hussein
I know not how to tell thee who I am:
Hussein, dear saint, is hateful to myself,
Because it is an enemy to thee.
Had I my ID, I would tear the word.

Voter.
My ears have yet not drunk a hundred words
Of that tongue’s utterance, yet I know the sound;
Art thou Obama and yet not a Hussein?

Obama.
Never Hussein, if my pollster dislike.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

